5 Facts about the 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship

 TUDOR United SportsCar ChampionshipWhat exactly is the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship™ and the FIA World Endurance Championship™ anyway? In 2014, a new era of sports car racing begins, as the American Le Mans Series and Rolex Sports Car Series come together to become the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship and the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC).

Back in 2012, both series recognized the opportunity to grow the sport and the two announced that they would combine to form one series, beginning in 2014. We are finally here folks –2014!

The reveal date for the new series was March 14, 2013 at the Chateau Élan Hotel and Conference Center at Sebring International Raceway, two days before the 12 Hours of Sebring, located in Florida. The new era kicked off with the season-opener, Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Along with all the excitement for the new series, one of the most talked about, new LMP2 cars is set to finally make its debut in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship later this year. The plans revealed a campaign for the Ligier JS P2 in the final three Prototype rounds of the 2014 season.

Fast Fasts

  1. The Tudor United SportsCar Championship is a sports car racing series based in the United States and Canada, and organized by the International Motor Sports Association (IMSA).

  2. There are four different classes in the United SportsCar Championship series, two sports prototype categories and two grand tourer classes:   

  • Prototype (P) class, combining GRAND-AM's Daytona Prototypes plus the ALMS' P2 and DeltaWing car.
  • Prototype Challenge (PC), retained from the current ALMS class structure.
  • GT Le Mans (GTLM), consisting of the ALMS' current GT class.
  • GTD (GT Daytona), consisting of GRAND-AM's, GT class and the ALMS' current GTC class                 
  • Some races may only use selected classes of cars. For example, any class car may be permitted entry into the Rolex 24, while at the Grand Prix of Long Beach only the  Prototype (P) and GT Le Mans (GTLM) will be entered.

  • OR teams and drivers are in direct competition with those cars in the same category,  but all four categories share the race track…at the same time.

  • There are 13 circuits on the 2014 calendar. Some of the major circuits include Austin, Daytona, Long Beach, Road Atlanta, and Sebring.

Be At The Inaugural Season!

BE AT THE INAUGURAL SEASON!Official Ticket Packages to the 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship & FIA World Endurance Championship in Austin, Texas are customizable and available for individuals, large groups and corporate events or incentive trips. Your tickets, VIP access, transportation, hotel accommodations and more will be packaged together to fulfill all of your reservation needs.

The Circuit of The Americas Experiences exclusive Hospitality Party Venue offers a private dining area in close proximity to your track seating at the circuit, great views, and seating as close as you can get! The venue features food, premium bars, simulcast televisions, racing legend appearances, and more! Don’t miss out on this specular event!

Be There!

Subscribe to Email Updates