United SportsCar Team Feature: Chip Ganassi Racing

Chip Ganassi Racing Overall

To date, the Chip Ganassi Racing team and their Daytona Prototype No. 1 TELMEX Ford car currently rank third in the TUDOR United SportCar Series thanks to drivers Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas.

Chip Ganassi Racing was formed by…you guessed it, Chip Ganassi on April 1, 1990, when he partnered with Target to create a one-car CART (Championship Auto Racing Teams) Indy car team –Target Chip Ganassi Racing. Oh, and this year, the team celebrates 25 years!


Chip Ganassi has been an icon in the auto racing industry for over 30 years and is considered one of the most successful and innovative owners the sport has ever seen. Today, his teams include four cars in the IndyCar Series, two cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and one Prototype in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship!

       TEAM OWNERS: Chip Ganassi, Felix Sabates
             CAR: Ford EcoBoost/Riley
  CLASS: Prototype        
 SPONSOR: Telcel                  

FAST FACT: Overall his teams have 17 championships and 150 victories, including four Indianapolis 500s, a Daytona 500, a Brickyard 400, a 12 Hours of Sebring, and five Rolex 24 At Daytona.

United SportsCar

Ganassi announced plans to enter the 2004 GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series with drivers Scott Pruett and Max Papis at the helm of a CompUSA-sponsored Riley Daytona Prototype and the rest is history.

Chip Ganassi Racing is known more for Indy car and NASCAR, however, they are and already have made leaps and bounds in the United SportsCar world. Don’t believe us? Take a look at the team’s United SportsCar highlights:

  • Seven-time Daytona Prototype team champion (2004, 2006, 2008, 2010- 2013).
  • Holds DP records in victories (41), pole positions (34) and podiums (90).
  • Only team in Rolex 24 At Daytona history to win three consecutive years (2006-2008).
  • Chip Ganassi became first team owner to win Daytona 500, Brickyard 400 and Indianapolis 500 in single season in 2010, in addition to winning Rolex Series DP and IndyCar Series titles.

As many of you know, GRAND-AM and the American Le Mans Series merged to form the Tudor United SportsCar Championship. TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates made the switch from BMW to Ford power as Pruett and Rojas make a bid for an unprecedented fifth straight title.

See the team LIVE!

Circuit of The Americas™ (COTA) will be hosting the all new Lone Star Le Mans on Sept. 19-20 and YOU will be there to witness this dynasty in live action!

See The Team Live!

Through Circuit of The Americas Experiences, you will be in the heart of the action for this event’s first appearance in Austin. Between the heart-stopping views, gourmet foods, paddock tours, and pit lane walks, you’ll be in a racing oasis! Book your Official Ticket Package today, what are you waiting for?

Get Me to Lone Star Le Mans 2014

Subscribe to Email Updates